Mary K. Richter

Our founder, Mary K. Richter, received a standing ovation as she was named the Kenneth S. Brown, M.D. Research Award recipient for her monumental impact on ectodermal dysplasias research.  Timothy Fete, M.D., M.P.H., from the Scientific Advisory Council (SAC), presented the award to Mary Kaye at the Saturday celebration dinner at the Family Conference in July.

Dr. Fete credited Mary Kaye for understanding the importance of research when she started the Foundation and having the vision to create and execute a program that has made so many successful discoveries. He lauded her ability to speak to the world’s leading researchers and scientists and persuade them to take interest in these rare conditions. The program under her tenure led to the development of a treatment for XLHED being tested in clinical trials; and started AEC syndrome and Goltz syndrome on similar paths.

The award has only been given five other times in the NFED’s 33-year history. It is named in honor of Dr. Ken Brown, who served on the SAC from 1983-1988. He made significant contributions to ectodermal dysplasias through his work at the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research.

Past Recipients of the Kenneth S. Brown Research Award

1991 – Newton Freire Maia, M.D.

1993 – Jonathan Zonana, M.D.

1996 – Juha Kere, M.D., Ph.D.

2001 – J. Timothy Wright, D.D.S., M.S.

2006 – Margret Casal, V.M.D., Ph.D., Pascal Schneider, Ph.D., Olivier Gaide, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Tim Fete presents the Ken Brown Research Award to Mary K. Richter.
Dr. Tim Fete presents the Kenneth S. Brown, M.D. Research Award to Mary K. Richter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *